Town of Viking

You are here: Home Government Municipal Elections

Municipal Elections

Across Alberta, general municipal elections are held every four years for mayors, councillors, municipal district electoral area directors and school board trustees - pursuant to the Alberta Local Authorities Election Act (LAEA).

Generally, voting day is the third Monday in October. Candidates are voted in for a four-year term. The last general election was held on Mon., Oct. 18, 2010.

The next general election will be held on Monday, October 21, 2013. Candidate nominations for the next election will be accepted between 10:00AM to 12:00PM, Monday September 23, 2013.

Municipal government is the order of government closest to citizens.

Voter turnout in all elections has declined in recent years, magnifying the impact of each vote. In each election, a number of municipal candidates are elected by just a handful of votes. Your vote can make a difference.

All citizens over 18 years of age are eligible to run for elected office. For governments to be representative of, and responsive to, the needs of their constituents, their makeup should reflect the demographics of the constituency.

Elected officials:

  • bring the perspectives of your demographic to the decision-making table;
  • influence changes that benefit your community and ensure its sustainability;
  • put forward new ideas for debate and possible implementation and change;
  • make a positive difference in the quality of life in your community;
  • provide a voice for your community with other levels of government; and
  • be part of a team that makes decisions that affect all aspects of community life.

Who Can Vote?

You may vote in an Alberta local election as a resident elector if you:

  • are a Canadian citizen;
  • are 18 years of age or more on general voting day;
  • have lived in Alberta for at least six months before you register to vote; and
  • have lived in the municipality, regional district or school district where you wish to vote for 30 days or more before you register to vote.

Who is Eligible to Run as a Council Candidate?

You qualify as a candidate for Town Council if you:

  • are eligible to vote in that election;
  • have been a resident of the local jurisdiction, and the electoral division in which you are running for the six consecutive months preceding nomination day; and
  • are not otherwise ineligible or disqualified.

You are not eligible to be nominated as a candidate if you:

  • are the Town's auditor;
  • are an employee of the Town, unless you are on a leave-of-absence, as granted under the Local Authorities Election Act (LAEA);
  • are indebted to the Town for taxes exceeding $50, excluding current taxes and any outstanding taxes for which the person has entered into an agreement with the Town for payment;
  • are indebted to the Town any debt exceeding $500 and in default more than 90 days; or
  • have, within the previous ten years, been convicted of an offence under the LAEA.

Authority for Elections

Local municipal government elections are held under the authority of the LAEA.

Candidate Handbook

Please review the candidate handbook for more information on the upcoming municipal election.

Candidate Handbook - Current

Bookmark and Share

Viking Election

voteViking Election Results

October 16, 2017

Viking Mayor:

Vote Results:
Cindy Lefsrud - 161
Jason Ritchie - 225    - Elected

Councillors - All positions acclaimed

Judy Acres - Councillor
Dana Ewashko - Councillor
Maynard Huibers - Councillor
Rod Hunter - Councillor
Clinton Nearing - Councillor
Laurel Weisgerber - Councillor